Visiting and visitors

3 Nov

When I first came to Burundi, and especially when I moved upcountry, it was always a joy to go out visiting. To see how people live. To practice my Kirundi. To pray for people. To laugh together and use hand gestures when verbal communication failed. In recent months and even years it feels like this has happened so much less. I guess my role has majorly changed into being a full time Mama to two toddlers and running a home. And sometimes it can feel like I am continually in survival mode with sicknesses, water shortages, flea infestations and meal planning to name a few, so the thought of venturing out to visit people was never really at the forefront. However, last week, at the prompt of a new missionary friend in our town, I went out.

One of my favourite things to do is going to visit a Mama in the proper upcountry (Bush bush). This time it was Mama Roy who had given birth to her second baby, a girl, a few weeks before.

Walking to visit a family

We parked the car on the little dirt road and then walked on the dirt path past newly planted fields. Esperance carries with such grace the gift basket on her head – some rice, sugar, porridge and little baby girl clothes for the newborn baby.

The new baby girl

Nathan loved being in a new place and seeing the goats, especially when they all came inside the little mud house when it started to rain. He wanted some of the Fanta which was given to only the three guests. I distracted him with his water cup, but then Papa Roy gave him, and the other children, glucose biscuits which are exactly as the name suggests! Full-of-glucose. I went with it. Nathan then proceeded to bang his hands on the little table as if it was a drum and belt out “Uri Mana Mana” You are God God! His favourite song. Everyone laughed and joined in. He was quite at home and for me it was one of the first times to really see him in the limelight without his older brother around.

Thunder rumbled overhead and soon the rain was beating down, thankfully only for 10 minutes or so. The goats bleated in the back room and Nathan toddled off to see them, quite at home. The new baby was swaddled in blankets and wasn’t too happy. Her older brother Roy shared Esperance’s Fanta on top of the glucose biscuits and he soon became quite chatty. Various family members entered the small dark room, with only a few wooden chairs and a small table as furniture, to greet us. These people live so simply and yet have so much joy. I’m forever challenged and inspired by their resilience, joyful faith and generous hospitality.

After praying for them all, the whole family walked us back to the car and the gift basket was returned full of plantains (savoury bananas).

The following day we had arranged for a Mama to come and visit us. We met her on one of our first Sundays here in Mwaro. She came to ask us for help as her child was sick. She has become a good friend and we are so impressed with how she cares for her children. Last year we supported 3 of her kids to go to school with uniforms and copybooks and shoes. She came to visit us at the beginning of September and I was sure she was coming to ask for money for the school materials, but no, she came to tell us she had been able to buy everything for them this year! Wow.

I love having visitors. But if I’m honest I struggle when they come when the boys are napping. That’s ‘my time’. Time to drink tea and eat biscuits. Time to zone out. Time to catch up on admin. Time to phone a friend. Time to pray. Time to rest.

Mama Japhet arrived 1.5 hours late for lunch. And yes the boys had just gone for their nap and I was putting the kettle on. I can’t blame her as she had to prepare lunch for her 4 kids coming home from school before she set out on the two-hour walk cross-country carrying a basket of potatoes on her head. There was torrential rain en-route and she stopped to shelter for a while.

So while the boys napped we chatted and Mama Japhet ate half her lunch and drank a Fanta. I tried to stifle my rain-induced yawns and listen to the Kirundi words. She really does inspire me, no husband around, 4 well-looked after kids, living in a mud brick house and she is SO joyful. We prayed together and then she set off home with the basket on her head with some sugar and rice in.

Praying with Mama Japhet

And there in two short days I had been out visiting and hosted a visitor. Just like that. And deep within me, something was stirred once again. This is what I was made for. To step out. To reach out. To visit. To host. To love. And to pray. And as a Mama myself I can already start to teach my boys a little of what love looks like, including them with the joy they carry.

8 Responses to “Visiting and visitors”

  1. James Dixon November 3, 2021 at 10:13 pm #

    Once again Ruth I am very blessed by your words and the manner in which you share. I really do get a sense that you are actually where you are supposed to be and where God has put you. Knowing that is a great thing. May the Lord really bless you and your family as you meet the day-to-day challenges. He will go before you and behind you!
    God bless
    James

  2. Jenny November 3, 2021 at 10:17 pm #

    God bless you Ruth. It’s good to hear what’s happening in your family and community. Life sounds really fulfilling. I’m praying also for the neighbour who has given you so much trouble. I’m asking God to turn his life around in salvation and you would see justice done nd an end to the troubles. I continue praying for God to surround your community with the ring of fire in protection and His glory to be seen within. Much love to you all
    Jenny

  3. mazkitt November 4, 2021 at 1:04 am #

    Hello my name is Maz I live in Perth Western Australia and sitting in my prayer chair I felt to check my phone and your blog page popped up so I clicked on it and here we are
    I was touched by the pictures your words formed as I saw a glimpse of your life. What a privilege to be showing what love looks like and raising 2 sons. I am 60 years young a retired teacher of our indigenous people and am married to handsome hunky Jamie. We have 2 sons and within days are becoming grandparents. I believe in what God is able to accomplish through you laid down life and yes less is More! I will hold you in my heart much love Maz

  4. Helen Symons November 4, 2021 at 6:18 am #

    Dear Ruth Thanks so much for your honest and inspiring posts. What a brave, courageous and awesome Mama you are. It’s so good to get a glimpse of your life in Burundi. May the Lord continue to bless and encourage you as you lean on Him on the journey He has for you. He is so much bigger and more powerful and compassionate than we could ever imagine.

    Well done Ruth, you are truly amazing! Love and blessings Helen xx

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  5. Donald Werner November 4, 2021 at 11:08 am #

    Dear Ruth,

    It was wonderful to receive your latest newsletter. It was so interesting – and gives ‘fuel for prayer’. You have a real literary gift. I am completely re-writing my book ‘A Heart for Healing’ – and it would be greatly improved if I had you literary style rather than my own. ‘staccato’ style.

    Love to you and Claude, Caleb and Nathan. I hope to see you in Burundi next year – if my heart holds out.
    God bless, inspire and keep you

    Donald.

    Sent from Mail for Windows

  6. Charles Humphrey November 4, 2021 at 6:09 pm #

    It’s all about Seasons I guess Ruth and it’s lovely to see you out and about with Nathan and to hear how he has become a natural entertainer! Children play such an enormous role in building relationships! I was in Mtt 18 v 3 this morning and it gives the Kingdom of God enormous appeal with its reverence for children. Maybe we oldies are prepared to be more like children in the way we start shrinking but I guess we’ve still a lot to learn or maybe even unlearn!!!!. Lots of love to you all xxxx

  7. lindacurrinkiwi November 7, 2021 at 5:26 am #

    Thank you Ruth from New Zealand for your honest account, as usual! It’s a different path that you may have envisaged when you first went, but God always has His way of cementing His Word into our lives more as a living reality.:) Our hearts cry is always answered, but not in ways we always think, and as usual – the challenge to take up His Cross and follow, to deny the me, to lay down our lives – is always the daily challenge. Thank you for sharing this. Love Linda from NZ

  8. Lankasushmaswaraj April 10, 2022 at 12:40 pm #

    Iam from india in state of andhrapradesh Your story is so fabulous I start love to read this.so fantastic.god will use you throughly.iam sushma from servant of god.god bless you and your family.in the name Jesus you can do more more works of god .god give good health and wealth for you and your family

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.