Ten years

22 May

Back in January it was ten years since I moved to Burundi. 

Ten. Years. 

When I packed my 2 suitcases to come all those years ago, I just had a two-week plan, although I knew deep down that it was a longer-term move. It was a huge step to leave a well-paid job, to leave family, to leave friends, to leave a culture and independence, and follow in obedience what God had called me to. A new Nation. In the heart of Africa. I’d been coming to Burundi since 2007, but this was different. I was moving here as a missionary. A step of faith and trust.

I’ve been reflecting these past ten years. Has it been easy? No. Has it been joyful. Not always. Has it been what I expected? I don’t think so!

Growth. It has definitely been ten years of growth. I have learnt new things. I have grown in faith and trust. I have grown into a family unit – meeting my husband Claude here and having children. We have land and are building our own house. I have grown in knowledge and understanding. But there has also been a lot of pruning and cutting down. I have to learn to start again. To walk in humility. A few weeks ago, I was queuing to see a doctor. There was a number system in place so we all knew where we were in the queue. Another white lady decided she had waited long enough and announced she was next and went in. She had arrived at the clinic after me. I felt angry. But then I was so convicted because so many times I have used an attitude of entitlement to get my way. I need to grow more in humility and laying my life down and loving others. We always need to grow more…

Adventure. Looking back at some of the early blog posts there has definitely been adventure! And that adventure continues now in our little town where we live. Building a house. Raising children. Stepping out. Driving down and up dirt tracks to take new-born twins home from the hospital (a whole other blog post!) Not knowing when we will next be able to buy fuel for the car or sugar to bake a cake. Adoption. Growing food. Planning travel to visit the UK. Riding bikes. Buying a cow. 

People. My life feels so rich with all the people I have met over these past years. Local people who have welcomed me, fed me, showed me what simplicity in life is like. Their resilience has challenged me. And then the other missionaries who have generously poured into my life. Who have gone before and shown a way. Who continue to open their homes and lives to us. And then all the people back in the UK and around the world who faithfully pray for us or give financially to us or cheer us on. It is most humbling and moving to think of us all working together to make a tiny impact in this part of God’s world.

Provision. In ten years I have never had to ask people for money. God has always provided. Interestingly, it has always been in proportion to what I have needed. Sometimes finance has arrived slower than I may have wanted, but looking back this has taught me more about being content even when the bank balance doesn’t look good. And it is not just about finance, there have been a number of times when people have given me/us things just at the time we have needed them or prayed for them! Furniture, baby things, clothing, shoes, toys, a room to sleep in … And this trust in God for His provision continues. A day at a time. A month at a time. We have to seek Him first and His righteousness. 

Resilience. I have seen and heard a lot of things here that have not been easy. Death. Hunger. Torture. Gunshots. Sickness. Poverty. Power abuse. Injustice. Stress. The list could probably go on. I have needed help. Counselling. Calls with our mission family care team. Prayer. Rest. Holiday. Training. Perhaps now I need resilience for raising boys and home-schooling in upcountry Burundi! Whatever we face and wherever we live in the world we need to ask God to help us be resilient so we can be the BEST for what HE has asked us to do… 

“May God himself, the God of peace, sanctify you through and through. May your whole spirit, soul and body be kept blameless at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ. The one who calls you is faithful, and he will do it.” 1 Thessalonians 5:23-24

Top tips for living ten years as a missionary in a different country

  • Do some missions training.
  • Be connected to a Mission agency/organisation for accountability and support.
  • Take time to learn the culture and the language.
  • Set up good prayer support and be regularly in touch with supporters back at home.
  • Be humble, be willing to learn, go low and slow
  • Lay down the “Entitlement” and “My rights” mentality
  • LOVE those God has put in front of you – whether it is team, locals, leaders.
  • Take time for spiritual input, rest and refreshment.
  • Laugh a lot and enjoy being where God has placed you.

3 Responses to “Ten years”

  1. Jon May 22, 2023 at 2:10 pm #

    Uplifting, educational, encouraging but a challenging aide to our own journeys of faith – thank you!

  2. Emma May 22, 2023 at 8:52 pm #

    Very Well written Ruth. You said it all!
    It’s wonderful to know you are not alone. When Jesus gave the great command to go::
    He also said and surely I am with you always to the end of the age.
    It’s wonderful to be working along side Jesus. God bless n keep you.

  3. Yogini Jani May 29, 2023 at 2:06 pm #

    Dear Ruth

    I hope you are all keeping well.

    I can’t believe it’s been 10 years since you’ve moved… where does the time go?!

    I am reading your message nearly a week after it came, as we had a big family event yesterday. As always, it happens to be at a time when it brings me much needed reflection…and helps to ground me. Sitting in a lovely large house in the middle of the Chalfonts on a sunny day, it reminds me to be less entitled, more humble, and mostly, to be more thankful for all the things and people I am blessed with.

    My regards to Claude, and virtual hugs for Caleb and Nathan.

    Take care.

    Best wishes Yogini

    Sent from my Galaxy

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.